Oktoberfest 2015

Today it’s over! It’s the last day of Munich’s Octoberfest, the biggest beer festival in the world and the most traditional one. Not that I’m so glad that it’s over as it must sound here. It’s been kind of non-existant for me this year though. It took me more than one week to get my dirndl dress back from my parents’ house. Yet I didn’t use it and didn’t feel like getting myself into that crowd. Is it too German for me now? Is it a sign that I’m still not “there” yet even though it’s been more than 5 months now that I’m back?

I know how wearing that dirndl can be fun, yes. Going to Octoberfest is only real fun when you wear the traditional folklorist “costumes”. In the beginning it feels like disguising yourself for carnival if you’re not from Munich. But once you’re used to it, you can’t go without it!

my then new Dirndl

But it’s also a hassle. It’s very tight and you need extra jackets to fight the cold. So carrying around a lot of stuff, not being sober (of course!) is annoying. Not to mention being confronted with penetrant drunken men all the time…

If it’s one organized afternoon or evening, when there’s a booked table in a safe area in the beer tent, with a group of familiar friends, it’s a different story, of course. Nevertheless, it seems that it’s not only me with an indifferent attitude towards Oktoberfest this year. My friends, weren’t in such a “Wiesn”-mood, either. (Locals call the Oktoberfest also “Wiesn”).

So it turns out there’s just one funny thing of this year’s event that I can tell. I had left my apartment for some foreign guests a few times who wanted to visit Munich and the biggest beer event of the world. One of them, a very cute asian woman, texted me during the day asking me whether all the locals didn’t have to work during Wiesn because she sees so many of them during the day.
This question is so funny for a local and understandable at the same time coming from a foreigner who is not familar with Munich’s history and this city’s everyday lifestyle. My reply explained that not every person she sees wearing folklorist clothes is necessarily a “local” – there are many people from other parts of Germany visiting Octoberfest and getting the clothes for the festival-weekend only. But in fact there are many traditional locals who take days, or even weeks, off to be able to attend this festival every day (they can) for the two weeks that it’s happening.
Crazy, isn’t it?!

Well, now it’s over. Despite of that there is one thing I saw that one could apply the entire year. The so-called “Wiesn-shuttle” had the saying “Don’t drink and walk” on it…

Don’t drink and WALK!!

So: Have a good hangover and don’t drink and walk, ever!!!

Leave a Reply

